Being Resourceful and Unstoppable

Two mantras I am applying to having a successful Reboot of my career are i. remember that I am resourceful, and ii. be unstoppable.

I’ve taken my game to a new level and I’ve had some positive results in the past month through my effort. I’ve landed one customer and I have two interested prospects in the pipeline.

I think I am now being tested.

Perhaps God is saying, “Oh, you think you are unstoppable? We’ll see about that.”

More likely he is saying, “I’ve been waiting for you to up your game and now that you are, I want you to grow and stretch even more, to face what is to come.”

It started as a tickle in my throat a few days, a scratchy feeling, that has since developed into an energy sucking, mucus spewing sickness. Call it a cold, call it a cough, I don’t know what to call it but it’s there.

Lindt Lindor Truffles

Lindt Lindor Truffles (Photo credit: cacaobug)

I drank lots of fluids, made lots of tea (peppermint – hot). Then it dawned on me – doing the same thing and expecting a different result is insanity. If I want to get rid of my cold, I have to do something different; therefore I should eat a few of the Lindors I’d been ignoring all day. Resourcefulness – yeah!

And then my car died.

Not as a result of my sickness, mind you. A result of old age. The car’s, not mine.

My thirteen year old car with over 300,000 kilometres. I put more mileage on that car than the distance from Earth to the moon. I’ve had that car longer than any girlfriend. Perhaps I’ve been doing it backwards – keeping the same car long term and trading in my women after three to four years. But that’s a whole other topic.

Thursday night, my car wouldn’t start. I had planned to drive to Toronto for the weekend with my parents. My car had another idea. It was too late at night, too cold, and I was too sick to want to deal with anything other than hopping into my car and driving to Toronto, so I cancelled my trip and stayed in. I’ll deal with it in the morning, I told myself.

The next morning my car still wouldn’t start. I called CAA and told them I needed a boost, maybe a new battery.

CAA came, tested my car, told me the battery was fine. It’s probably the starter or the timing. He called a tow truck driver for me to take my car to my trusted service guy in Niagara Falls.

Later that afternoon I got the call from the auto shop where I had my car towed. “I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it’s the timing chain. Given the age and condition of the car I don’t recommend repairing it.” Simply put, he recommended I put my money into a replacement car instead of into repairs.

Over the weekend I adjusted to the idea that now that I have no car I have to learn to get around and function without one. Until I get a replacement, that is. I could be upset about no longer having a car, on which I’m so dependant, – or I could be unstoppable.

With that in mind I set myself several missions for the day.

I was down to my last roll of toilet paper and the way I was using it up blowing my nose – I had a potential crisis in the making.

Mission 1 was to bundle up, walk through the cold and the snow to the nearby MiniMart and replenish my supply.

Mission 1 accomplished, potential toilet paper crisis averted.

Mission 2 was more challenging – make the longer trek to a grocery store several blocks away, for a few grocery basics – garlic, onion, vitamin C, etc. A few basic things to use to get rid of my cold faster. I knew I wouldn’t cure it with Lindors alone.

Mission 2 accomplished – I came back with an assortment of items that are Good For Me.

Toilet paper Español: Papel higiénico

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Mission 3 was to mix and take some of the Good For Me’s, to encourage my body to heal and detoxify. Which brings me back to Mission 1.

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Being Resourceful and Unstoppable

  1. Hope you’re feeling better! I really like your attitude. I’ll have a double doese with ketchup on the side.

  2. Pingback: Is $16,000 too much for an MP3 player? | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer

Leave a Reply

