A road less travelled

IMG_4124

The other day I was driving back from a meeting I had in Niagara Falls and I decided to take a different route than I usually take. I will sometimes do this as a way to create a sense of variety in my life as well as to explore my surroundings.

Near the Glendale bridge, a road I’ve taken before where I usually turn left onto Glendale, I decided instead to go straight – a route I haven’t taken before. It turns out that Lock 3 of the Welland Canal and the St. Catharines Museum are located on that road. I’ve seen signs for the Museum in the city but in the almost three years that I’ve been living in St. Catharines I’ve never bothered to find out where it was.

So there it was. I popped in for a few minutes, took some pictures and recorded a clip for my next video blog episode.

IMG_4074

View looking north towards Garden City Skyway, where the QEW crosses the Welland Canal.

IMG_4098

The Welland Canal has eight locks. Three of them are located in St. Catharines. The next four are called the Flight Locks because they are located close to each other and are like a flight of stairs that ships climb to ascend (or descend) the Niagara Escarpment. The eighth lock is located in Fort Erie.

I found a video on YouTube, it’s a time lapse of a ship that traverses the Welland Canal, from Lock 8 to Lock 1. The video has been sped up and is under 10 minutes in length. In reality it takes ships an average of 11 minutes to traverse the entire length of the canal. When you watch the video you get the full sense of how long it takes when night falls near the end after the ship passes through Lock 1.

This entry was posted in Travel, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A road less travelled

  1. You have no idea how wierd it is for me to imagine someone coming back from a meeting at Niagra Falls. Wow. I’d have to save up for all seven of my cat’s lives to visit a place you go for meetings. Pfft. Snot fair.

  2. orestgtd says:

    My meeting was actually in the city of Niagara Falls (Canadian side), not at the falls themselves. In a restaurant. A decent restaurant, but probably not worth giving up any of your cat’s lives. But it is a blessing to live in this region, close to the Niagara Escarpment. It is also easy to get caught up in the meanderings of life and making a living, and be totally oblivious to what’s around me, which is why I periodically make a point of going out of my way to explore and share 🙂

    Come visit some time, I’ll show you around 🙂

Leave a Reply

