MiniWriMo: Day 1

Dawn

Dawn (Photo credit: Kotchka)

After my first shot at the NaNoWriMo last fall I had the idea to do a MiniWriMo as a follow up.

I just did a google on the term MiniWriMo. What turned up was a bunch of hits on NaNoWriMo but none for MiniWriMo. Therefore I take credit for coining this phrase. Just remember, when it becomes a regular part of our lexicon, that you heard it here first!

My definition of a MiniWriMo is a writing challenge with my goal being to write 350 words a day for an entire month. Compare that with a full blown NaNoWriMo where the goal is to average 1,666 words a day.

I thought May would be a good month for a MiniWriMo. May is the half way point between successive NaNoWriMo’s. Six months from the last November, six months left to next November.

That’s what I thought in April, and then May snuck up on me unannounced and said “Here I am, let’s go!” and I wasn’t ready to start.

June was more polite in its approach. June had the decency to knock first and ask, “What do you think – shall we begin?”

I’m ready now. Let’s go, June.

The focus of my writing challenge is a re-visit to my novel-in-progress Mission: Dawn. I’ve started going over my manuscript from the beginning and so far I’ve identified a gap between two scenes in the first section. Time to reconnect with my characters Ian and Gaba and develop the scene where they first meet.

When I spent time with them during my first NaNoWriMo last November, the characters threw out some surprises at me. Meeting up with them again, for the first time, turned out to be no less fun and they were both quite ready to engage with me in the writing process. The highlight of today’s writing session was this bit of dialog they gave me.

“You won’t make any points with the captain by trying to pick up his woman,” Gaba tells Ian.
“His woman? Her? How did he land a woman like that?”
“If you think she’s out of the captain’s league then she’s going to be way out of your league, ensign.”
“Never underestimate the human spirit for bold adventure. That’s what drove us to reach for the stars in the first place.”

I love the creative process.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to MiniWriMo: Day 1

  1. dmauldin53 says:

    I want to participate. I think it will help me when the November NoNoWriMo opens, I looked at it last year, but didn’t feel ready. This year, I’m going to try it. Thanks for this MiniWriMo! 🙂

    • orestgtd says:

      Thanks. I’m glad to know I’ve motivated someone to write!

      To be clear, this is not an organized event nor is it affiliated with NanoWriMo. It is simply a personal challenge I have set for myself.

      Good luck with your effort and keep us posted on your progress!

  2. richcross13 says:

    This is a good challenge, especially for us who want to get better in our writing skills! I was encouraged sometime ago before I start blogging if you want to get better at writing…write more often!

    This is good!

  3. Pingback: JuNoWriMo Novel | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  4. besisbored says:

    This is a very good idea. I think 1.666 Words sound like a lot, so your MiniWriMo should be a great preparation 🙂

  5. Pingback: Canada Day teaser | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer

  6. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo July 2013: Day 9- You, the Audience | After Writer Dreams...

Leave a Reply

