The Garden City Shake


My home club, Garden City Toastmasters, is not the first club to make a Harlem Shake video.

But our video does have the best special effects!

A few members had suggested a while ago that we make a Harlem Shake video to promote our club. Several other Toastmasters clubs have done so.

I’m not big on these internet memes like Gangnam Style and Harlem Shake, and have been avoiding them for as long as possible.

However, as VP Public Relations for my club I thought it was a good idea to make a video to use for promotional purposes.

And as a video maker, I looked forward to the creative challenge, and was enthusiastic about putting my skills to use to help my club. I’ve been using some of my down time during medical leave to sharpen the saw (Media Man, Down to earth video effects), and was eager for a project where I could use some of the techniques I’ve learned.

All this meant I could no longer avoid Harlem Shake. I had to do my research and find out what it was all about.

The production of a typical Harlem Shake video is quite simple. Just two scenes and a jump cut transition between them.

If you know me at all, you have to know that I don’t do something like this and make it Simple. I take Simple and add Complexity. If I’m going to take something like this on I’m going to add my own touch to it.

One of our former members, Dan, was kind enough to return to our club for a visit on the night of the shoot, and kind enough to agree to lead off the dance. Since he was kind enough to go out of his way to do all that for us, I thought the least I could do to honor him is to blow him up.

So while other Toastmasters clubs have made their own Harlem Shake video, our video has… synchronized x-ray flashes, text animated in 3D, and we blow someone up!

Click on play above to watch the video. I’d appreciate it too if you’d leave a comment on the Garden City Toastmasters blog where I’ve posted the video at in this article.

This entry was posted in Toastmasters, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

