Marathon man

Boston Marathon Finish Line.1910. Author: Unknown.

Boston Marathon Finish Line.1910. Author: Unknown. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My buddy Alastair Hood is a runner. Anything he takes on, he works hard at it. He works hard at his business, and he works and trains hard at being a runner.

Alastair has dreamed of running in the Boston Marathon.

That’s one heck of a dream to have. And April 15, 2013 was one heck of a day to realize that dream.

Alastair was about 500 metres from the finish line when the bombs went off.

He was okay. He made it back home safely. He and members of his running team were interviewed on CHCH.

Read the full article at Runners talk out Boston Marathon experience.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Marathon man

  1. I’m glad that his team are safe and sincerely hope that they will all cope with the emotional aftermath of what they saw. I identify with your words “And April 15, 2013 was one heck of a day to realize that dream”: on the same date, 24 years previously, I had decided it was time to watch my first ever football match at Hillsborough stadium. I still have nightmares about what I experienced that day. Please pass on my support to your friend, and the team he runs with.

    • orestgtd says:

      Thank you, Multifarious, I will do that.

    • orestgtd says:

      I passed on your note to Alastair. He replied, “I have nightmares about Hillsborough and I wasn’t even there. I remember seeing a picture of kids getting crushed to death and I never forgot it. Didn’t know it was on the same date. … Send them my thoughts. It must have been horrific. “

Leave a Reply

