The Proverbial Burning House

Today’s writing prompt at Daily Post is Burning Down the House.

Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

A question of a similar nature came up as an ice breaker, years and years and years ago, when I had just joined a church cell group at Joshua Creek Church in Mississauga.

bandura players

bandura players (Photo credit: polandeze)

The question that was posed then had a limit of one item that could be removed from the proverbial burning house. After some sole searching I had decided that the one item would be my bandura. My bandura is a Ukrainian musical instrument, with 55 strings, that I’ve had since around age eight. Someone I know once described playing on a bandura was like playing directly on the stringboard of a piano. I had thought of the “one thing” being my computer, but after reflecting decided that it would be the bandura. Insurance would replace the computer, but my bandura was my bandura, and any replacement just would not be the same.

I don’t have my bandura with me now; my parents have been storing it for me for the last couple of years.

If the building I live in now were on fire, and I got to grab five things instead of just one, my MacBook and my iPhone would be the first two – that’s a no-brainer. Next would be my camcorder. That’s three and I still get to pick two more. The Daily Post is being more generous than my previous cell group!

I’m going to assume that clothing doesn’t count, and I’ll have the appropriate apparel for the weather. A parka if it’s cold, a hat, etc.

Car keys. I’ll want those. I’ll need a way to get around while my apartment is being repaired.

One more.

the next four journals

(Photo credit: paperbackwriter)

My journals. I’ve been keeping my journals in digital format for the last several years but I still have all of my paper journals starting from my high school years and going forward from there. I value those journals, and insurance won’t replace them.

There we go, that’s five.

This question is purely hypothetical, right? I mean, it’s going to look suspicious if my house really does burn down right after I publish this. I’m going to call my insurance agent now…

This entry was posted in Music, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Proverbial Burning House

  1. Pingback: Burning Down The House – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  2. seldombites says:

    1. My Kindle – if all my books are gonna burn, I’ll need something to read.
    2. My Expansion Drive – this is where all my photos are stored.
    3. My Wallet – it would be such a pain to have to replace all my cards and ID on top of everything else.
    4. My Fold-a-File – all my most important documents are contained therein.
    5. A pair of shoes – I don’t want to escape the fire only to succumb to bindis.

  3. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author. I will make certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back later in life. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job, have a nice day!

  4. Pingback: What I need to survive… | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

