Toastmasters in space

Public speaking – for many it’s the final frontier. These are the voyages of the USS Garden City, representing the United Federation of Toastmasters. Her ongoing mission – to explore strange new Words of the Day. To seek out and explore strange new uses of language and new table topics. To boldly win speech contests that no man, or woman, has won before.

One of the speeches I gave last year as I worked towards my Advanced Communicator Bronze designation was the After Dinner speech, Project #5 from The Entertaining Speaker manual. My objectives were to

OUTER SPACE

OUTER SPACE (Photo credit: whologwhy)

  • Prepare an entertaining after-dinner talk on a specific theme,
  • Deliver the talk using the skills developed in preceding projects.

The theme I chose for my project was the 200th anniversary of the first Toastmasters chartered in outer space. As the saying goes, one should never let the facts get in the way of a good story, and I extrapolated several “facts” for my speech from real life lessons learned from watching Star Trek.

Although my speech was a tongue in cheek look at what the expansion of Toastmasters into outer space could look like, I’ve recently come across someone who is working to make it real.

Space travel begins here.

Space travel begins here. (Photo credit: Nick Sherman)

Andrew Rader is a former member of Com Dev Toastmasters. He has had a lifelong dream to go into space, and is in a competition to win a trip to space – for real. Andrew has recently ranked as #16 in Canada for two available slots and thinks he has a shot at it but needs lots of help. Andrew is looking for friends, and friends of friends, to vote, to post the link on their Facebook and ask others to help out. Every vote counts!

The link to vote is at the AXE Appolo web site.

Andrew has also appeared on the television show Canada’s Biggest Know It All. You can find the trailer on YouTube.

My duties as starship captain have kept me from giving as many speeches as I’d have liked and I’m a bit out of practice. To tell you the truth I’m a bit nervous. I remember that the way to deal with being nervous at the front of the room is to imagine the audience in their underwear. I won’t tell you which one of you I’m imagining in your underwear right now except to say “nice tatoo”. Oh, and if you get a call late at night and hear heavy breathing I’ll deny that it was me.

This entry was posted in Toastmasters and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toastmasters in space

  1. Pingback: Reblogged from A Year In The Life of a Toastmaster « Garden City Toastmasters Blog

  2. Pingback: Race for Space | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer

Leave a Reply

