Horizontal therapy

Toastmaster industrial-grade toaster, capable ...

Toastmaster industrial-grade toaster, capable of toasting sliced bread and bagels. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I wasn’t supposed to be Toastmaster until next week. I had asked our VP Education to book me for the third week in January. I wanted to use this role to complete the fifth and final project in the Speciality Speeches manual.

As a result of the unavailability of some members the VP Ed asked me to be Toastmaster this week. I agreed.

Tuesday morning I woke up and wasn’t feeling well. Sick, sick, sick. Voice was hoarse, barely functional. How would I be Toastmaster if I had no voice? Was I contagious? Should I stay home to avoid spreading germs?

But what if I did stay home? Who would be Toastmaster for the meeting? It was the day of the meeting, there was not enough time to find another Toastmaster, for someone to prepare for the role.

Dilemma, dilemma, dilemma.

After a few hours of horizontal therapy I decided that I would go. I would at least show up for the meeting, and once there, if not feeling well enough to perform my role then we’d deal with it as a team. At least I would have made the effort. The eleventh tenet of the leadership covenant – as a leader I never take myself out of the game.

I considered not having myself evaluated for my role. I mean, my performance would probably not be my best, maybe I’ll do the role again next week when I’ll be feeling better and be evaluated then.

No. That’s back door thinking. If I’m doing the role then I might as well be evaluated. Make every meeting count. If my voice were to give out and I didn’t complete the role then I’d take the option to redo it another week, but the way to do this was to go in with the expectation that I would complete it this week.

One of our speaker evaluators did not show up at the meeting. I took on a double role, as Toastmaster and also as a speaker evaluator. I completed my role as Toastmaster, got my evaluation, and completed the Speciality Speeches manual. I am now four or five projects away, depending on which manual I use next, from attaining my Advanced Communicator Silver.

I also had myself evaluated as speaker evaluator and used that towards one of the Competent Leadership projects.

In the end it turned out to be a productive meeting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Horizontal therapy

  1. Pingback: Toastmasters in space | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer

Leave a Reply

