Fawing in Wuv

The other day my friend Lori Marcoux posted a question on her Facebook status, asking what are your plans for 2013? Lori Marcoux and her husband Phil Holcomb are leadership coaches at Extraordinary Learning and both have been mentors to me.

I had already given some thought about my plans for 2013 and I posted a comment in reply. Finish ACS and ACG towards Distinguished Toastmasters (DTM designation), and High Performance Leadership Project. NaNoWriMo 2013. Surgery. Increase my net worth.

These are all great goals to have and there is one big omission – there’s nothing in that list about attracting the life partner and family that I want in my life.

facebook engancha

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lori has known me a long time and I wondered if she would notice my omission and call me on it. And since I was thinking that, I also thought that I should expand my list and not wait for someone else to challenge me on it.

The part of me that’s been disappointed so many times in the past, the bitter, cynical part urged me not to. Play it safe. Don’t put something out there and set yourself up for more disappointment.

Then something Tookish in me woke up and started arguing with the bitter, cynical part.

The Tookish part won the argument. I went back and added Fall in love. Whether or not I have a partner.

Falling in love is easy. The trick will be to fall in love with someone who falls in love with me.

Wouldn’t that be precious.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fawing in Wuv

  1. David stephenson says:

    Hmm quite the puzzle for commute in this morning. Cannot figure out why you would have struggles in this area. We should get together and have a beer next time I’m in town. Of the top of my head id say displays of opulence and generosity help grease the skids for love. (As do push-up bras and eyeliner). Nobody said we were an advanced species.

    • orestgtd says:

      David, you are so right. I need to go out and get myself a push up bra and some eyeliner. I am certain that by doing so I will improve my results immensely!

  2. Pingback: Dealing with bitter people | Spread Information

Leave a Reply

