Some NaNoWriMo Surprises

Words have a power all their own

Words have a power all their own (Photo credit: Lynne Hand)

Last night I was feeling some NaNoWriMo fatigue. Although I missed three writing days after Day 2, I did reach three consecutive writing days following those, and even had a couple of days where I’d surpassed my self-imposed target of 2,000 words per day.

Last night I was thinking that I would try for another 1,000 words when I get home from work. That’s what I was thinking until I got home from work.

I had two consecutive days in which I exceeded 2,000 words and yesterday I fell short at 1,177. Another 1,000 words after work would have been a nice catch up.

I just did not want to go into it though.

Two days on, three days off, three days on.

Was I already NaNoWriMo fatigued? Or was it just that it was 2:30 in the morning?

Although I had been feeling discouraged about what I came up with in my first two days, I have been enjoying hanging out with my characters during my last three days. They’ve even given me a few surprises.

But at 2:30 last night (this morning?) I wanted a mental break. Let’s get together again after breakfast, okay?

Today, I didn’t think I would have time for a session at all. Then I decided to try for at least 500 words. I had a scene come to me in my imagination; I sat down to write it out and got to 738 words. That’s all I have time for today.

Am I winning the NaNoWriMo game? No. At 738 words for today and 8,969 words in total I am well below my target.

However, that is still 738 words I would not have at all if I wasn’t in the game.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Some NaNoWriMo Surprises

  1. Dawna Bate says:

    Orest – It is still 8,969 words more than most people so don’t worry about hitting the target. Congratulate yourself on advancing towards that target.

  2. Pingback: Why I’m not celebrating becoming a yoga teacher today and NaNo 2012 | Life at no fixed abode

  3. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 9 | Side Quest Publications

  4. Pingback: My #NaNoWriMo in week two! | Zara ~ a writing story

  5. Pingback: So Guilty « Reading the 1001

  6. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: It’s a marathon, not a sprint | Michael McMullen

  7. Pingback: Oops, no NaNo for me on day 10 « Run4joy59's Blog

  8. Pingback: Day 10 of NaNoWriMo | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  9. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 11 « My Two Cents

  10. Pingback: Why I registered for and then gave up on NaNoWriMo « Syllable in the City

  11. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 10: It Was A Beautiful Day « Laith's Ramblings

  12. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: It’s All Right To Take Your Time | An Evil Nymph's Blog

  13. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 27 | Side Quest Publications

  14. Pingback: NaNoWriMo – The Last Day | The View Outside

  15. Pingback: “It’s not a date” | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer

Leave a Reply

