Pick up your mat and walk

For the last few weeks I’ve been posting my stats for my stair climbing exercise program to Facebook and Twitter. One of my Facebook friends recently asked what is my motivation for doing the stairs.

There is a story of a man who was lame for 38 years. He was hanging around a pool called Bethesda. An angel would come at certain times to stir the waters and whoever got in the water first would be healed. Every time this man tried to get into the pool another would get there before him.

One day Jesus approached him and asked if he wanted to be healed. After the man answered, Jesus told him “Get up! Pick up your mat and walk.” At once the man was cured, he picked up his mat and walked.

I’ve had mobility issues with my body over the past years, and I have heard Jesus say to me “Pick up your mat and walk”.

The poll climb in Fiji, the Inca Trail in Peru, or 45 flights of stairs in my apartment; I’ve got my mat and I’m walking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

